The COAG Health Council (CHC) and its advisory body, the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council (AHMAC), provide a mechanism for the Australian Government, the New Zealand Government and state and territory governments to discuss matters of mutual interest concerning health policy, services and programs.

The new COAG Council system

On 13 December 2013 the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) agreed to streamline the COAG Council system.There are now eight COAG Councils. COAG Councils are responsible to COAG and will be engaged in work requiring COAG's attention.

COAG’s new Council system is aligned with COAG’s current and anticipated priorities over the next 12 to 18 months. It matches the Government’s commitment to respect state sovereignty and allow states to get on with policy development and service delivery in areas they are responsible for.

The Health Council will provide a forum for continued cooperation on health issues, especially primary and secondary care and consider increasing cost pressures.

Terms of Reference
To download a copy of the COAG Health Council Terms of Reference click here.

For more information in relation to the COAG council structure follow this link http://www.coag.gov.au/.