Principal Committees

The Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council (AHMAC) has four principal committees which report directly to it. These Committees have dedicated areas of health in their purview and provide strategic advice to AHMAC.

Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC)

Comprises of Chief Health Officers from each of the jurisdictions.

Ongoing Role
The AHPPC has an ongoing role to advise AHMAC on health protection matters and national priorities. AHPPC is also tasked with the role of mitigating emerging health threats related to infectious diseases, the environment as well as natural and human made disasters. The Committee also works with states and territories to develop and adopt national health protection policies, guidelines, standards and alignment of plans.

AHPPC oversees five standing committees: 

  • Blood Borne Viruses & Sexually Transmitted Infections Standing Committee
  • Communicable Diseases Network Australia
  • Environmental Health Standing Committee
  • National Health Emergency Standing Committee
  • Public Health Laboratory Network of Australia

Secretariat contact    |    02 6289 2634    |    GPO Box 9848, Canberra ACT 2601


Health Services Principal Committee (HSPC)

Deputy-Secretaries with responsibility for funding and managing health services, and other related skills such as performance frameworks.

Ongoing Role
The HSPC has an ongoing role to advise AHMAC on health services reform requiring national collaboration. In addition, the Committee promotes national population health initiatives while collaborating to improve key interfaces between national and state and territories funding and management of services, particularly: primary/acute hospital interface, care of older persons and the public/private interface. HSPC also works to improve health system capability (including digital health, performance measures and national health information strategy) as well as advising on workforce planning and reform arising from the work of the National Nursing and Midwifery Education Advisory Network (NNMEAN), the National Medical Training Advisory Network (NMTAN) and the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA).

HSPC oversees a number of committees which support its work:

  • National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Standing Committee
  • End-of-Life Project Reference Group
  • National Framework for Chronic Conditions Project Reference Group

Secretariat contact    |    08 8226 6191    |    PO Box 3410, Rundle Mall, SA 5000


Clinical Principal Committee (CPC)

Jurisdictional Chief Medical Officers, or equivalent.

Ongoing Role
The CPC’s main role is to advise AHMAC on two matters:

  • Issues of national significance that require technical clinical expertise
  • Annual blood budget and plan

CPC oversees five committees

  • Jurisdictional Blood Committee
  • Standing Committee on Screening
  • National Cancer Expert Reference Group
  • National Genomics Policy Framework Project Reference Group
  • Health Technology Reference Group
  • Clinical Trials Project Reference Group

Secretariat contact    |    08 8226 6191    |    PO Box 3410, Rundle Mall, SA 5000


Mental Health Principal Committee (MHPC)

Jurisdictional directors of mental health and related Commonwealth mental health policy senior officials.

Ongoing Role
The MHPC’s role is to develop and implement a shared National Mental Health and Suicide Plan in addition to advising AHMAC on mental health and drug service issues of national significance.

MHPC oversees two standing committees

  • Mental Health Information Strategy Standing Committee
  • Safety and Quality Partnerships Standing Committee

Secretariat contact    |    08 8226 6191